01.Faculty + research leaders#Section link copied to clipboard

Faculty and research leaders oversee key offices that advance the excellence of MIT’s education and research, and establish a culture that enables the community to do their best work. Learn more about the provost’s purview.

02.Academic deans#Section link copied to clipboard

Reporting to the provost, academic deans set the direction for the schools and college they lead, working with the MIT community on a wide range of issues.

03.Institute professors#Section link copied to clipboard

Institute Professor is the highest honor awarded by the Institute’s administration and faculty to tenured faculty. Institute Professors report to the provost and have demonstrated exceptional distinction by a combination of leadership, accomplishment, and service in the scholarly, educational, and general intellectual life of the Institute or wider academic community.

04.Administration + finance#Section link copied to clipboard

Two senior leaders in administration and finance have a secondary reporting relationship to the provost. Though they primarily report to MIT’s executive vice president and treasurer, the vice presidents for human resources and finance work with the provost to support faculty and steward MIT finances.

05.Provost office headquarters#Section link copied to clipboard

The provost’s administrative and operations staff support the provost and her direct reports in the implementation of her strategic priorities and day-to-day operations.

No content matches your search term.
  • Chief Academic and Budget Officer


Faculty + research leaders

  • Chris Bourg

    Libraries Director

  • Shared Report Eric D. Evans

    Director, Lincoln Laboratory

  • Paula T. Hammond

    Vice Provost for Faculty

  • Philip Khoury

    Vice Provost for the Arts

  • Richard Lester

    Vice Provost for International Activities

  • Brent D. Ryan

    Vice Provost for Campus Space Management and Planning

Academic Deans

  • Anantha P. Chandrakasan

    School of Engineering

  • Daniel Huttenlocher

    College of Computing

  • Nergis Mavalvala

    School of Science

  • Georgia Perakis

    Interim Dean, Sloan School of Management

  • Agustín Rayo

    School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences

  • Hashim Sarkis

    School of Architecture and Planning

Institute Professors

  • Daron Acemoglu

    Department of Economics

  • Suzanne Berger

    Department of Political Science

  • Arup K. Chakraborty

    Department of Chemical Engineering

  • Sallie (Penny) Chisholm

    Civil and Environmental Engineering

  • Ann Graybiel

    Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences

  • Paula T. Hammond

    Department of Chemical Engineering

  • Robert S. Langer

    Department of Chemical Engineering

  • Thomas Magnanti

    Sloan School of Management

  • Marcus Thompson

    Music and Theater Arts

Office Headquarters

  • Donna Behmer

    Assistant Provost for Faculty Programs

  • Kim Haberlin

    Chief of Staff

  • Dan Hastings

    Special Assistant to the Provost

  • Tori Hile

    Senior Administrative Assistant

  • Elizabeth Lennox

    Assistant Provost for Administration

  • Frances Neville

    Executive Assistant

  • Mary Ellen Sinkus

    Assistant Provost for Finance

  • Catherine Williams

    Director of Communications

Administration + finance

  • Shared Report Ramona Allen

    Vice President for Human Resources

  • Shared Report Katie Hammer

    Vice President for Finance

Back to Top